Summer

13th day and where has the time gone?  I will do what I can, but hey I am still writing every day.

That summer in the Frankenstein home was idyllic.  The finest ever on the lake, it was agreed by all.  Mr. Frankenstein was occasionally called back to the house in Geneva, but the rest of the family remained at the lake.  No one felt the need or want to leave.  The Frankenstein boys ran through the surrounding woods and hills, climbing, shouting and building various structures.  Agatha and Elizabeth strolled along the glistening lake, or sat at its edge and read or painted.  Mr. DeLacey simply sat in the shade outside his cottage and enjoyed the knowledge that both his children were happy and cared for in their different locations.

All the Frankenstein family felt better for the letters from Victor.  They remained shorter than previous and there was never more than one in a fortnight, but they were pleasant, coherent missives, cordial and light in tone, not the dark ramblings prior to his collapse.  The more frequent letters from Henry assured them that though there was the rare bout of nervousness, they were short-lived and Victor was much improved in both health and temper.  He had as yet, no hint of what terrible ordeal had brought on the dreadful condition he had found his friend in, but Victor was at last well over the worst of it.

Elizabeth folded up Henry’s latest correspondence, shared just now between her father and herself, and placed it carefully in the sewing box beside her, thinking yet again that they owed the man a great debt.

“We have so much to thank dear Henry for.  I don’t know how we will ever repay him for all he has done.  I don’t think there could have been a finer nurse.  We were very fortunate that Henry arrived there when he did.  I fear what may have befallen poor Victor if he had not.  I only hope Henry’s studies have not suffered too much as a result.”

A curious glint appeared in Mr. Frankenstein’s grey eyes.  “Oh, I don’t think we need worry about Henry too much.” He looked about the room to see who was present and then leaned forward.  “Fortune did not send Henry Clerval to Ingolstadt.  I did.  I do not pretend to be at an age that could look after Victor, not with him so far away, and he very clearly required a caregiver.  So I decided — who better than his closest friend?”

“You sent him?!”  Elizabeth had no idea.

“I did not send him, so much as enabled him.  We all know how very much Henry wished to attend the University of his friend and so I assisted.  Mr. Clerval is a vulgar and ignorant ass and there was no way that he was going to send his son to any sort of school anywhere unless it instructed on the manufacture of actual currency.  But when I suggested that I might provide some of the funds for his son’s further education, he began to see some of its advantages, if only in the valuable connections that may be made.  Henry knows nothing of this of course, and I would like it to stay that way.  Please do not tell anyone.  But no, luck was not involved.  I could not leave the fate of my eldest son to chance.”

Elizabeth was not sure if she was more shocked or more impressed.  She was certainly grateful.  “But what of the cost, father?  You gave me no hint of this when I was looking after the household accounts.  I should have liked some knowledge of it.”

“Oh, dear Elizabeth, we have a great many sources to draw on.  There are no worries there I assure you.  Just do as you always do in regards to running the house and I will look after all outside of it.”

When Agatha and Elizabeth were together later Elizabeth debated as to whether she should confide in her friend about this new piece of information, but her father had not wanted it known so she kept it to herself.

Author: karensnovemberbook

I am a textile artist, cafe owner and mother of two who has decided I don't have enough to do and so am going to write a novel in a month. Hey, it's easier with a clear deadline, right? Here goes. . .

Leave a Reply

